skip to content

Dynamics of inclusion and exclusion in Latin America. Perspectives and practices of ethnicity, citizenship and belonging

Guadalajara, Mexico, from the 4th to the 6th of September 2013

The Research Network for Latin America is organizing its fourth international symposium in cooperation with the University Center of Social Sciences and Humanities (CUCSH) of the University of Guadalajara and the Social Anthropology Research and High Educational Center (CIESAS). The organizers aim to strengthen the interdisciplinary cooperation within the framework of research on Latin America, bringing together researchers from different regions of the world.
download programme here (pdf, spanish)

The symposium includes historical, anthropological, political, sociological and cultural sciences perspectives and will discuss three interrelated topics:
1. Ethnicity and belonging. This thematic axis analyses collective constructions of identifications from the past until the present. It focuses not only on historical accounts but also on legal categorizations as well as on actual negotiations and mobilizations of (ethnic) belonging.
2. Belonging and citizenship in contexts of migration. Within this thematic axis the debate will turn on the relations between migration and ethnogenesis, claims of primordiality, the relationship between hegemonic and marginalized groups as well as the exclusion of immigrants by the state. Furthermore, it will address the question of how actual and past (trans)migrations create new and multiple senses of belonging and the role of language and literature in shaping them.
3. Citizenship transformations and the interweaving with ethnicity. From an historical, theoretical and phenomenological perspective, this thematic axis will examine the evolution of the concept of citizenship from the Ancient Regime to postmodernity: the historical struggle for political and social inclusion; the ‘classical’ claim of equality in view of cultural diversity; the demands for civic representation in contexts of social and cultural heterogeneity, institutional discrimination or armed conflicts.

 

The Conferencias Magistrales have been recorded and can be watched here.

An anthology resulting from the conference has been released in 2015: Potthast, Barbara; Büschges, Christian; Gabbert, Wolfgang; Hensel, Silke; Kaltmeier, Olaf (Hg.) (2015) "Dinámicas de inclusión y exclusión en América Latina. Conceptos y prácticas de etnicidad, ciudadanía y pertenencia", Frankfurt a.M. (Iberoamericana/Vervuert).

Dynamiken der Inklusion und Exklusion in Lateinamerika. Perspektiven und Praktiken von Ethnizität, Citizenship und Belonging

Guadalajara, Mexiko, 4. bis 6. September 2013

Das Kompetenznetz Lateinamerika veranstaltet sein Viertes Internationales Symposium in Kooperation mit dem Universitätszentrum für Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften (CUCSH) der Universität von Guadalajara, Mexiko (UdeG), und dem Zentrum für Forschung und Höhere Studien in Sozialanthropologie (CIESAS). Diese Veranstaltung soll die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit innerhalb der Lateinamerikaforschung stärken und ForscherInnen aus verschiedenen Weltregionen zusammen führen.
download des Programms hier (pdf, Spanisch)

Das Symposium schließt historische, anthropologische, politikwissenschaftliche, soziologische und kulturwissenschaftliche Perspektiven ein und wird Debatten entlang dreier Achsen anstoßen:

1. Ethnizitäten und Zugehörigkeiten: Diese Achse analysiert Konstruktionen kollektiver Identifikationen in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart und bezieht historische Überlieferungen ebenso ein wie rechtliche Kategorisierungen und gegenwärtige Aushandlungen und Mobilisierungen von (ethnischer) Zugehörigkeit.

2. Zugehörigkeit und Citizenship im Kontext der Migration: In dieser thematischen Achse werden das Verhältnis zwischen Migration und Ethnogenese, Behauptungen primordialer Zusammengehörigkeit, Beziehungen zwischen hegemonialen und marginalisierten Gruppen, sowie staatliche Ausgrenzung von Eingewanderten debattiert. Ebenso wird die Frage gestellt, inwiefern frühere wie aktuelle (Trans-)Migrationen neuertige und mehrfache Zugehörigkeiten erzeugen, und welche Rolle dabei Sprache und Literatur spielen.

3. Transformationen von Citizenship und deren Verflechtung mit Ethnizität: Aus historischer, theoretischer und phänomenologischer Perspektive wird diese dritte Achse untersuchen, wie sich das Konzept der Bürgerschaft vom Ancien Régime bis zur (Spät-)Moderne gewandelt hat. Sie thematisiert historische Kämpfe um politische und soziale Inklusion; die Spannung zwischen Gleichheitspostulat und kultureller Diversität; sowie das Konzept staatsbürgerlicher Repräsentation angesichts sozialer und kultureller Heterogenität, institutioneller Diskriminierung und bewaffneter Konflikte.

Die Conferencias Magistrales wurden gefilmt und können hier angesehen werden.

Ein Tagungsband ist 2015 erschienen: Potthast, Barbara; Büschges, Christian; Gabbert, Wolfgang; Hensel, Silke; Kaltmeier, Olaf (Hg.) (2015) "Dinámicas de inclusión y exclusión en América Latina. Conceptos y prácticas de etnicidad, ciudadanía y pertenencia", Frankfurt a.M. (Iberoamericana/Vervuert).

Neben der Universität zu Köln sind folgende Universitäten am Kompetenznetz beteiligt: